Music and Vision homepage



Shostakovich and Beethoven Trios

MALCOLM MILLER enjoys the Stockholm Arts Trio's UK début


The eighth series of Music at the Wallace Collection concluded on a high note with an impressive concert by the Stockholm Arts Trio, on Sunday 8 December 2002 at Hertford House in central London, UK, featuring the Shostakovich Trio No 1 Op 8 and Beethoven's majestic 'Archduke' Trio in B flat Op 97. Formed in 1986 by a group of talented Swedish soloists, the Stockholm Arts Trio project a distinctive ensemble identity through their cohesive sonority and individual responsiveness to style.

To introduce the event Michael East, Chairman of Springboard Concerts Trust which presents the Wallace Collection series, paid tribute to the vision of the Artistic Director. Hannah Horovitz has successfully directed the series since its inception, at first in partnership with Lisa Peacock and singlehandedly for the last three years, enriching the international concert scene by providing début platforms for young artists of outstanding promise. Hannah, in her turn, welcomed the capacity audience to this fortieth concert in the series; continued support, via the Friends of Springboard Concerts Trust, was vital, she underlined, to ensure the future of the series.

Continue >>

Copyright © 10 December 2002 Malcolm Miller, London, UK


 << M&V home       Ensemble home        Nicolas Koeckert >>