Music and Vision homepage

Here and there - classical music news from around the world  RSS - Really Simple Syndication

Music's Delight

In spring 2013 on-line publisher Music's Delight of Basel, Switzerland, made available a series of instrumental works of the Pre-Classical period by composers of the Mannheim School (Anton Stamitz, Johann Stamitz, Johann Anton Filtz, Ignaz Holzbauer, Joseph Toeschi and Franz Xaver Richter) and of the Vienna School (Johann Georg Albrechtsberger and Georg Matthias Monn). Accessible and rich in tonalities, this music was always intended for public performance. With its immediate impact, it continues to delight audiences to this day.

Music's Delight provides the individual orchestral parts of rare historic scores from the pre-classical period. Editions are based on two series, Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Bayern, edited by Hugo Riemann, and Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich, edited by Guido Adler. In some instances, modern scoring conventions have been adopted to improve readability. Each edition consists of a complete score and individual parts.

The assortment of Music's Delight comprises symphonies, quartets and quintets for various instrumentations. As was common in the Pre-Classical period, instrumentation may be adapted to suit a given ensemble. Other instruments not mentioned by the composer may be added, while wind instruments, for example, may be dropped altogether.

Musical scores for ensembles and orchestras as well as lieder for PDF download are offered, rendering the music immediately available, and pre-empting time-consuming searches and long delivery periods. Prices range from 18 to 49 Swiss francs.


Posted: 24 September 2013

Next item: Lisa Otto >>


Whilst Music & Vision strives for accuracy in everything published,
we can accept no responsibility for textual inaccuracy.


<< Music & Vision home     classical music news     Lisa Otto >>