Music and Vision homepage Cadenza Programme Note Library - Programme Notes by Mike Wheeler

Britten: Peter Grimes - Teatro alla Scala

OA 1103 D

DVD9 NTSC 16:9 anamorphic, all regions
Dolby Digital, dts Digital Surround

Playing time: 154' (opera), 14' (bonus)
Chapters: 36
Booklet pages: 24
© 2012 Teatro alla Scala, 2013 Opus Arte
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of Britten: Peter Grimes - Teatro alla Scala published on 22 November 2013

John Graham-Hall, Peter Grimes
Susan Gritton, Ellen Orford
Christopher Purves, Captain Balstrode
Felicity Palmer, Auntie
Ida Falk Winland, Niece
Simona Mihai, Niece
Peter Hoare, Bob Boles
Daniel Okulitch, Swallow
Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Mrs Sedley
Christopher Gillett, Rev Horace Adams
George von Bergen, Ned Keene
Stephen Richardson, Hobson
Francesco Malvuccio, Boy
Orchestra e Coro del Teatro alla Scala
Robin Ticciati, conductor
Richard Jones, director
Bruno Casoni, chorus master
Stewart Laing, sets and costumes
Mimi Jordan Sherin, lighting
Sarah Fahie, movement
Patrizia Carmine, TV and video director

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976):
Peter Grimes, opera in 3 acts, to a libretto by Montagu Slater after the poem 'The Borough' by George Crabbe


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


READ Andrew Schartmann's Musical Tidbits