Music and Vision homepage All Risks Musical - an irreverent guide to the music profession by Alice McVeigh

James M Stephenson: The Devil's Tale



Playing time: [c54']
Tracks: 34
Booklet pages: 0
© 2015 Ravello Records LLC
Reviewer: Geoff Pearce
Review of James M Stephenson: The Devil's Tale published on 12 September 2015

Listen: James M Stephenson: Too Hot to Hoot (The Devil's Tale) (track 9, 0:00-0:35)

Western Illinois University Faculty Chamber Players:
Matt Bean, narrator
Julieta Mihai, violin
Matt Hughes, contrabass
Eric Ginsberg, clarinet
Douglas Huff, bassoon
Bruce Briney, trumpet
John Mindeman, trombone
Rick Kurasz, percussion
Mike Fansler, conductor

James M Stephenson:

The Devil's Tale - a sequel to Stravinsky's L'Histoire du Soldat

Part 1
1 Intro (Reprise ending of Stravinsky's L'Histoire du Soldat)
2 Narration
3 Never odd or even
4 Narration
5 Live, O Devil. Revel Ever! Live! Do Evil
6 Narration
7 Seven Eves
8 Narration
9 Too Hot to Hoot
10 Narration

Three Dances:
11 Cigar
12 Toss It In A Can
13 It Is So Tragic

14 Narration
15 Now, I Won
16 Narration
17 Part 1 Finale (Three Dances reprise)
18 Narration
19 Finale Tag

Part 2
20 Narration
21 Devil Never Even Lived
22 Narration / Seven Eves (reprise)
23 Narration
24 Never Odd or Even (short reprise)
25 Narration
26 Evil, A Sin, Is Alive
27 Narration
28 Name No One Man
29 Narration
30 No, It Is Opposition
31 Narration
32 Never Odd or Even (short reprise)
33 Narration
34 Now, I Won (reprise)

Recorded 28-29 October 2013 at Vallillo / Holtz Performance Studio, Tri States Public Radio, Macomb, IL, USA


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


Something for classical music enthusiasts every day at Music and Vision