Music and Vision homepage

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Along the Field



Playing time: 74'58"
Tracks: 25
Booklet pages: 28
© 2008 Alm Records
Reviewer: Robert Anderson
Review of Ralph Vaughan Williams: Along the Field published on 1 January 2009

Listen: The Vagabond (track 3, 0:01-0:56)

Hirohisa Tsuji, tenor
Nobuko Kaiwa, violin
Akane Nakanishi, piano

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958):
Two English Folk-Songs for tenor and violin:
1 Searching for Lambs
2 The Lawyer

Songs of Travel (Stevenson) for tenor and piano:
3 The Vagabond
4 Let Beauty Awake
5 The Roadside Fire
6 Youth and Love
7 In Dreams
8 The Infinite Shining Heavens
9 Whither must I Wander?
10 Bright is the Ring of Words
11 I have Trod the Upward and the Downward Slope

Along the Field (Housman), for tenor and violin:
12 We'll to the Woods No More
13 Along the Field
14 The Half-Moon Westers Low
15 In the Morning
16 The Sigh that Heaves the Grasses
17 Good-Bye
18 Fancy's Knell
19 With Rue My Heart is Laden

The House of Life: A Cycle of Six Sonnets (Rossetti), for tenor and piano:
20 Love-Sight
21 Silent Noon
22 Love's Minstrels
23 Heart's Haven
24 Death in Love
25 Love's Last Gift


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>