Music and Vision homepage

Here and there - classical music news from around the world  RSS - Really Simple Syndication

Opus Sorabjianum

Timed for publication on Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji's 121st birthday, Alistair Hinton and the Sorabji Archive announce the long-awaited biography of the English composer-pianist and critic by musicologist Marc-André Roberge - Opus Sorabjianum - The Life and Works of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji.

Described as a book of truly Sorabjian proportions, this new tome contains twenty-three chapters, one hundred musical examples, four appendices and a total of forty-four preliminary pages and five-hundred-and-forty-seven text pages. It builds on the earlier work by Paul Rapoport - Sorabji - A Critical Celebration of 1992, and Rapoport is one of the dedicatees. It could almost be said that this book presents more information about Sorabji than many might like to know, including information about the composer's sex life.

The new book has been made available as a free PDF download, and can be downloaded now via the link to the author's Sorabji resource site below. The publishers recommend that readers delay before printing and binding the book, because, despite the obvious care put into its production, they expect that various minor problems are likely to be discovered in the coming weeks and months.

Opus Sorabjianum is thoroughly recommended to anyone wanting to discover more about this enigmatic figure from twentieth century British musical life.


Posted: 19 August 2013

Next item: Fernando Alonso >>


Whilst Music & Vision strives for accuracy in everything published,
we can accept no responsibility for textual inaccuracy.


<< Music & Vision home     classical music news     Fernando Alonso >>