Music and Vision homepage Natalie Artemas-Polak - classical CD and book reviews, liner and programme notes, articles and lectures: CLICK TO CONTACT

York 2 - Fiona York and John York - Stravinsky, Ravel and Debussy

NI 5866

Stereo Ambisonic - UHJ Encoded

Playing time: 75'21"
Tracks: 20
Booklet pages: 8
© 2010 Wyastone Estate Limited
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of York 2 - Fiona York and John York - Stravinsky, Ravel and Debussy published on 28 April 2016

Fiona York and John York, 4 hands at 1 piano

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971):

Le sacre du printemps (1913)

First Part: Adoration of the Earth
1 Introduction
2 The augurs of spring: Dances of the young girls
3 Ritual of abduction
4 Spring rounds
5 Ritual of the rival tribes
6 Procession of the Sage - The Sage
7 Dance of the Earth

Second Part: The Sacrifice
8 Introduction
9 Mystic circles of the young girls
10 The naming and honouring of the Chosen One
11 Evocation of the ancestors
12 Ritual action of the ancestors
13 Sacrificial Dance: The Chosen One

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937):

Rapsodie espagnole (1907)
14 Prélude à la nuit
15 Malagueña
16 Habanera
17 Feria

Claude Debussy (1862-1918):

La mer, trois esquisses symphoniques (1905)
18 From dawn to noon on the sea
19 Play of the waves
20 Dialogue of the wind and the sea


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


Sponsor an article of your choice. Reward the author and unlock it to share online with non-subscribers - Music and Vision