Music and Vision homepage Jenna Orkin: Writer Wannabe Seeks Brush With Death - From the heights of greatness (the Juilliard School; musicians Rosalyn Tureck and Nadia Boulanger) via way-ward paths to the depths of wickedness these reminiscences will entertain and enlighten.

Monteverdi - Heaven and Earth



Playing time: 68'15"
Tracks: 14
Booklet pages: 47
© 2013 Vivat Music Foundation
Sent to a reviewer on 27 August 2013

Listen: Monteverdi: Zefiro torna (track 3, 0:00-0:54)

Carolyn Sampson, soprano
Rebecca Outram, soprano
Julie Cooper, soprano
Sarah Connolly, mezzo-soprano
Diana Moore, mezzo-soprano
Charles Daniels, tenor
John Bowen, tenor
James Gilchrist, tenor
Robert Evans, bass
Michael George, bass
The King's Consort (on authentic instruments)
Robert King, director

Claudio Monteverdi:

1 Toccata (Orfeo)
2 Ritornello & Dal mio permesso (Orfeo)
3 Zefiro torna (Scherzi musicali, 1632)
4 Ohimè, dov'è il mio ben (Seventh Book of Madrigals)
5 Chiome d'oro (Seventh Book of Madrigals)
6 A Dio, Roma (L'Incoronazione di Poppea)
7 A Dio, Florida bella (Sixth Book of Madrigals)
8 Interrotte speranze (Seventh Book of Madrigals)
9 Lamento d'Arianna 'Lasciatemi morire' (Sixth Book of Madrigals)
10 Possente spirto (Orfeo)
11 O come sei gentile (Seventh Book of Madrigals)
12 Lamento della Ninfa (Eighth Book of Madrigals)
13 Cruda Amarilli (Fifth Book of Madrigals)
14 Hor che 'I ciel, e la terra (Eighth Book of Madrigals)

Our September disc is especially exciting. Monteverdi 'Heaven and Earth' features an outstanding collection of vocal music by Claudio Monteverdi. Fourteen glorious tracks present an exquisitely varied programme on the theme of love in all its conflicting emotions, its joys and sweet pains affecting gods and mere mortals.

An all-star cast including Carolyn Sampson, Sarah Connolly, Rebecca Outram, Charles Daniels and James Gilchrist is joined by a highly colourful instrumental ensemble. The disc includes exquisite love duets, the melancholy Lamento della Ninfa, the virtuoso Zefiro torna, Orfeo's famous Possente spirto, an astonishing lament from Poppea, and the crowning glory of Monteverdi's astonishing Hor che 'l ciel, with its jaw-dropping final page.

Recorded 18 January and 7-10 February 2002 at St Jude's Church, London NW11, UK


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


Sponsor an article - share it online and reward the author. Music and Vision