Music and Vision homepage

The Judas Tree



Playing time: 69'56"
Tracks: 30
Booklet pages: 24
Reviewer: Robert Anderson
Review of The Judas Tree published on 15 July 2014

Peter Dickinson: The Judas Tree - a musical drama of Judas Iscariot
Poetry and Prose by Thomas Blackburn (1916-1977)

Part 1

1 Introduction
2 Chorus I: Listen! The hounds of the judge and the priest
3 Pilate: The Tree of Man and God
Fanfare I
4 Pilate: Yes, I suppose I did try to see that man's point of view
Fanfare II
5 Pilate: But to the point
6 Chorus II: Sharply defined in their crystalline heaven like stars
7 Pilate: Yes, I think it is high time we did something for Judas
Spoken chorus: He is the dark side of the Divine Imagination
8 Pilate: He has certainly had an extremely raw deal
9 Matthew: Then Judas, which had betrayed them
10 Pilate: Thank you, Matthew, remarkable prose
11 Chorus III: There's raw meat for the tiger-cub
12 Pilate: I hardly dare suggest
13 Chorus III (continued): Now here's a curious kettle
14 Pilate: And that is true
15 Pilate: Can you, in all conscience, attribute that statement
Chorale: O sacred head, sore wounded
16 Fanfare III

Part 2

17 Introduction
Chorus IV: Let us Pray
18 The Dominican: The Viaticum or Last Communion ...
Psalm 129: De profundis clamo ad te, Domine
19 Agnus dei: Ecce Agnus Dei qui tollis peccata mundi
20 Chorus V: I am most familiar with the ways of the dead
21 The Dominican: Listen to me!
22 Chorus VI: Requiem aeternam dona ei, Domine
23 Leader of the Chorus: Betrayest thou the Son of Man with a kiss?
Fanfare IV

Part 3

24 Introduction and Chorus VII: Beyond the circumference of his beatitude
March: Commandant: Left, left, left, right, left
25 Hymn: Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God Almighty
26 Commandant: Number one, number two, number three ...
27 Judas: Men and women
28 Chorus VIII: It is a lamentation of dust in the heart of the city
29 March: Commandant: Left, left, left, right, left
30 Epilogue

Recorded 24 and 25 March 1967 in Washington Cathedral, USA


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>