Music and Vision homepage Cadenza Programme Note Library - Programme Notes by Mike Wheeler


<<  -- 4 --  Robert Anderson    ULTIMATE DESTRUCTION


With Lady Macbeth dead ('she should have died hereafter' remains the classic response to unpunctual departure), Shakespeare and Verdi must now dispose of her husband. It is clear how hopelessly the witches have misled him, and that he cannot survive the arrival of Birnam Wood at Dunsinane. Dramatic nudity has sadly attacked the trees in this production, which advance unconvincingly as hardly more than a line of leafless branches. The exiles could easily have been picked off, and the only guarantee of victory would have been the presence of a witch platoon among them. On this occasion virtue must somehow triumph unaided.

The killing of Macbeth (Carlos Álvarez)) in Act 4. DVD screenshot © 2005 Opus Arte
The killing of Macbeth (Carlos Álvarez)) in Act 4. DVD screenshot © 2005 Opus Arte


Copyright © 1 March 2006 Robert Anderson, London UK


Verdi: Macbeth

OA 0922 D 2xDVD9 NTSC 16/9 anamorphic, all regions LPCM Stereo, digital dts surround FIRST RELEASE 164' 2005 Opus Arte

Carlos Álvarez, Macbeth; Roberto Scandiuzzi, Banquo; Maria Guleghina, Lady Macbeth; Begoña Alberdi, Dama; Marco Berti, Macduff; Javier Palacios, Malcolm; Ferran Ilari, Fleanzio; Stefan Kocan, Medico; Josep Ferrer, Servo; Francisco Santiago, Sicario; Ivo Mischev, Araldo; Symphony Orchestra and Chorus of the Gran Teatre del Liceu; Bruno Campanella, musical director; Phyllida Lloyd, stage director; Anthony Ward, set and costume design; Paule Constable, lighting design; Alejandro Stadler, revival director; Álvaro Albiach, assistant musical director; Gueràssim Voronkov, assistant musical director; Joan Anton Rechi, assistant stage director; Michael Keegan-Dolan, choreography; Toni Bargalló, TV director; Noemi Cuni, TV producer; Josep Tarda, executive for Liceu; Angela Alvarez, series producer; James Whitbourn, DVD producer; Hans Petri, DVD executive producer

Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901): Macbeth (opera in four acts, 1847 revised 1865, libretto by Francesco Maria Piave, after the play by William Shakespeare)


 << Music & Vision home      Recent DVD reviews       Werther >>

Download a free realplayer 

For help listening to the sound extracts here,
please refer to our questions & answers page.


Music and Vision - read us daily on the net