Music and Vision homepage

A Christmas Caroll from Westminster Abbey



Playing time: 63'34"
Tracks: 20
Booklet pages: 12
© 2008 Hyperion Records Ltd
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of A Christmas Caroll from Westminster Abbey published on 2 December 2009

Listen: Poulenc: Hodie Christus natus est (track 5, 0:00-0:45)

The Choir of Westminster Abbey
Robert Quinney, organ
James O'Donnell, conductor

1 Old German, arranged by Robert Lucas Pearsall: In dulci jubilo
Francis Poulenc (1899-1963): Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël (2 O magnum mysterium; 3 Quem vidistis pastores dicite; 4 Videntes stellam; 5 Hodie Christus natus est)
6 Kenneth Leighton (1929-1988): A Christmas Caroll
7 William Walton (1902-1983): All this time
8 James Lavino (born 1973): Nativity
9 John Rutter (born 1945): Dormi, Jesu
10 Bob Chilcott (born 1955): The Shepherd's Carol
11 Jonathan Dove (born 1959): The Three Kings
12 Traditional, arranged by Stephen Cleobury: Joys Seven
13 Franz Grüber (1787-1863), arranged by Christopher Bowers-Broadbent: Silent night
14 Traditional, arranged by James O'Donnell: I saw three ships
15 Michael Head (1900-1976): The little road to Bethlehem
William Mathias (1934-1992): Ave Rex (16 Ave Rex angelorum; 17 Alleluya, a new work is come on hand; 18 There is no rose of such virtue; 19 Sir Christèmas; 20 Ave Rex angelorum)


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>