Music and Vision homepage

Henry Purcell: The Fairy Queen

OA 1031 D (2 discs)

2xDVD9 NTSC 16:9 All Regions
LPCM 2.0 / DTS Digital Surround

Playing time: 230'
Chapters: 29 + 23
Booklet pages: 28
© 2010 Opus Arte
Reviewer: Robert Anderson
Review of Henry Purcell: The Fairy Queen published on 4 July 2010

Various soloists, actors and dancers
The Glyndebourne Chorus
Oliver Gooch, assistant chorus master
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Alison Bury, leader
William Christie, conductor
Jonathan Kent, director
Paul Brown, designer
Mark Henderson, lighting designer
Kim Brandstrup, choreographer

Henry Purcell:
The Fairy Queen (Semi-Opera in a Prologue and Five Acts, 1692)
(Libretto: anonymous adaptation of Shakespeare's 'A Midsummer Night's Dream')


1 Introductory music (Prelude - Hornpipe - Air)

Act 1
2 Now, good Egeus, what's the news with thee?
3 Rondeau
4 Is all our company here?
5 Overture
6 Come, let us leave
7 Fill up the bowl
8 First Act Tune

Act 2
9 Tell me, Fairies, where's our Queen?
10 Come all ye songsters of the sky
11 May the god of wit inspire
12 Now join your warbling
13 Dance for Fairies
14 Dance for the Followers of Night
15 Night: See, even Night herself is here
16 Mystery: I am come to lock all fast
17 Secrecy: One charming night
18 Sleep: Hush, no more
19 Second Act Tune

Act 3
20 I am out of breath with following him so fast
21 Are we all met?
22 If love's a sweet passion
23 Symphony while the swans come forward
24 Third Act Tune
25 Ye gentle spirits of the air
26 Dialogue between Coridon and Mopsa
27 When I have often heard young maids complaining
28 Dance for the Haymakers
29 A thousand ways we'll find to entertain the hours


Act 4
1 Act Four Symphony
2 I squeeze this flower of purple dye
3 Now the night is chas'd away
4 Entry of Phoebus
5 When a cruel long winter has frozen the earth
6 Spring: Thus the ever grateful Spring
7 Summer: Here's the Summer, sprightly, gay
8 Autumn: See my many colour'd fields
9 Winter: Next, Winter comes slowly
10 Fourth Act Tune

Act 5
11 Good morrow, friends, Saint Valentine's is past
12 Thrice happy lovers
13 O, let me weep
14 Entry Dance
15 Adam: Thus the gloomy world
16 Eve: Thus happy and free
17 Adam: Yes, Daphne
18 Monkey's Dance
19 Hark! the ech'ing air a triumph sings
20 See, I obey
21 Chaconne
22 Curtain calls
23 They shall be as happy as they're fair

Extra features:
Staging The Fairy Queen - an interview with Jonathan Kent
Music of The Fairy Queen - an interview with William Christie


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>