Music and Vision homepage

Benjamin Yusupov's Viola Tango Rock Concerto


Stereo and 5.1 Surround

Playing time: c52'
Chapters: 8
Booklet pages: 12
© 2011 Navona Records LLC
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of Benjamin Yusupov's Viola Tango Rock Concerto published on 14 April 2012

Watch and listen: Yusupov: Movement I (Viola Tango Rock Concerto) (title 2 chapter 3, 3:43-4:52)

Anibal Dos Santos, viola, electric viola, dancer
Gina Medina, dancer, choreographer
Venazio Cipollitti, accordion
Carlos Posada, acoustic guitar
Andrés Leiva, electric guitar
Luis Alberto Ramirez, electric bass
Carlos Andrés Cortés, drums
Orquesta Filarmónica de Bogotá
Ricardo Jaramillo, conductor

1 applause

Benjamin Yusupov:

Viola Tango Rock Concerto
2 Prelude
3 Movement I
4 Movement II
5 Movement III
6 Movement IV
7 Postludium
8 Go Tango

This historic DVD is a document of the Orquesta Filarmónica de Bogotá's version of Benjamin Yusupov's Viola Tango Rock Concerto, hailed as 'the greatest concerto ever written for the viola' by Maxim Vengerov. Played at the Auditorio Leon of Greiff of the Universidad Nacional de Colombia on 12 June 2009, this performance, as original and striking as its 2005 world premiere, features solo performances from viola player Anibal Dos Santos on classic and electric viola, Venanzio Cipolliti on accordion, Carlos Posada on acoustic guitar, and Andres Leiva, Luis Alberto Ramirez and Carlos Andres Cortes playing rock passages. Dos Santos, leader of the OFB viola group leader since 1998, plays the classic and electric viola with great technical skill and artistic commitment, but also dances the tango during the concert, accompanied by Gina Medina, the award-winning Colombian dancer.


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>