Music and Vision homepage Natalie Artemas-Polak - classical CD and book reviews, liner and programme notes, articles and lectures: CLICK TO CONTACT

Randall Thompson: Requiem



Playing time: 55'16"
Tracks: 18
Booklet pages: 12
© 2016 Naxos Rights US Inc
Reviewer: Geoff Pearce
Review of Randall Thompson: Requiem published on 26 May 2016

The Philadelphia Singers
David Hayes, conductor

Randall Thompson (1899-1984):

Requiem (1958)

1 Part I: Lamentations

Part II: The Triumph of Faith
2 Why make ye this ado?
3 What man is he?
4 Good tidings to the meek

Part III: The Call to Song
5 Be filled with the spirit
6 O let the nations be glad
7 Sing unto Him
8 Utter a song

Part IV: The Garment of Praise
9 Sing with the spirit
10 Let everything that hath breath
11 Let them give glory
12 Praise Him all ye stars of light
13 I am their music

Part V: The Leave-taking
14 Ye were sometimes darkness
15 The Lord shall be unto thee
16 Return unto thy rest
17 Thou hast given him
18 Amen and amen, alleluia

Recorded 25-26 January 2014 at Gould Rehearsal Hall, Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, PA, USA


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


All Risks Musical - an irreverent guide to the music profession by Alice McVeigh