Music and Vision homepage

Purcell: Dido and Aeneas


NTSC DVD 16:9 Colour All Regions
Dolby Digital Stereo / DTS 5.1

Playing time: 66' + 23' supplement
Chapters: 17+1
Booklet pages: 32
© 2009 Opéra Comique - FRA Musica
Reviewer: Robert Anderson
Review of Purcell: Dido and Aeneas published on 16 May 2010

Malena Ernman, Dido
Christopher Maltman, Aeneas
Judith van Wanroij, Belinda
Hilary Summers, Sorceress
Lina Markeby, Second Woman
line Ricci, First Witch
Ana Quintans, Second Witch
Marc Mauillon, Spirit
Damian Whiteley, Sailor
Fiona Shaw, Prologue

Les Arts Florissants choir and orchestra
William Christie, musical director
Deborah Warner, stage director
Chloé Obolensky, sets and costumes
Jean Kalman, lighting

Opéra Comique co-production with De Nederlandse Opera, Amsterdam

Dido and Aeneas
Opera in a prologue and three acts by Henry Purcell
Libretto by Nahum Tate after Virgil's Aeneid
First performed in December 1689 in London

1 Générique début

2 Echo and Narcissus
3 The Waste Land
4 He wishes for the cloths of heaven

5 Ouverture

Acte I
6 Belinda: Shake the cloud
7 See, your Royal Guest appears

Acte II
8 Sorceress: Wayward sisters
9 Belinda: Thanks to these lovesome vales
10 Second woman: Oft she visits
11 Spirit: Stay, Prince and hear great

Acte III
12 First sailor: Come away, fellow sailors
13 Sorceress: See the flags and streamers
14 Dido: Your counsel all is urg'd in vain
15 Dido: But Death, alas! I cannot shun
16 Chorus: With drooping wings ye

17 Générique fin

A vision of Dido and Aeneas


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>