Music and Vision homepage

Elgar: The Light of Life

CHAN 10726 X


Playing time: 62'48"
Tracks: 17
Booklet pages: 36
© 1993, 2012 Chandos Records Ltd
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of Elgar: The Light of Life published on 25 November 2012

Listen: Elgar: Light out of darkness (The Light of Life) (track 6, 0:00-0:59)

Judith Howarth, soprano - Mother of the Blind Man
Linda Finnie, contralto - Narrator
Arthur Davies, tenor - Blind Man
John Shirley-Quirk, baritone - Jesus
London Symphony Chorus
Stephen Westrop, chorus master
John Scott, organ
London Symphony Orchestra
Richard Hickox, conductor

Edward Elgar (1857-1934):

The Light of Life, Op 29
1 Meditation -
2 Chorus and solo: Seek Him that maketh the seven stars and Orion -
3 Recitative and chorus: As Jesus passed by -
4 Solo: Be not extreme, O Lord, to mark amiss -
5 Solo: Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents -
6 Chorus: Light out of darkness Thou hast brought!
7 Recitative: And when He had thus spoken -
8 Women's Chorus: Doubt not thy Father's care!
9 Soli and chorus: He went his way therefore, and washed, and came seeing -
10 Solo: As a spirit didst Thou pass before mine eyes
11 Recitative and chorus: 'They brought him to the Pharisees -
12 Solo: Thou only hast the words of life! -
13 Soli and chorus: But the Jews did not believe -
14 Solo and women's chorus: Woe to the shepherds of the flock
15 Recitative and soli: Jesus heard that they had cast him out -
16 I am the Good Shepherd
17 Chorus: Light of the World, we know Thy praise


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>