Music and Vision homepage

Janácek: The Two String Quartets



Playing time: 74'54"
Tracks: 20
Booklet pages: 4
Reviewer: Robert Anderson
Review of Janácek: The Two String Quartets published on 23 February 2011

The Lindsays

Leos Janácek:

String Quartet No 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'
1 Adagio - Con moto
2 Con moto vivace
3 Con moto - Vivace - Andante
4 Con moto

String Quartet No 2 'Intimate Letters'
5 Andante - Allegro
6 Adagio - Piu mosso - Vivace - Andante - Presto
7 Moderato - Adagio - Allegro
8 Allegro - Andante - Allegro - Adagio - Tempo I

Antonín Dvorák:

Cypresses in G major B 152
9 Moderato (I know that on my love to thee)
10 Allegro ma non troppo (In many a heart is death)
11 Andante con moto (In the sweet power of your eyes)
12 Poco adagio (Oh, our love will not bloom into that long wished-for happiness)
13 Andante (Here I search for your dear letter)
14 Andante moderato (Oh, golden charming rose)
15 Andante con moto (I lurch around the house)
16 Lento (Here in the depths of the forest)
17 Moderato (Oh, dear soul, only one)
18 Andante maestoso (There stands an ancient rock)
19 Allegro scherzando (Nature is held in light sleep)
20 Allegro animato (You ask why my songs)

Courtesy of Sanctuary Records Ltd, a company of Universal Music Group

Recorded in the Concert Hall, Faculty of Music, University of Cambridge, 1991


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>