Music and Vision homepage READ Andrew Schartmann's Musical Tidbits

Red Priest - Handel in the Wind - The Messiah and Other Masterworks



Playing time: 71'59"
Tracks: 26
Booklet pages: 8
© 2014 Red Priest Recordings
Reviewer: Howard Smith
Review of Red Priest - Handel in the Wind - The Messiah and Other Masterworks published on 27 May 2015

Listen: Handel, arranged by Red Priest: Hallelujah (Messiah) (track 15, 0:00-0:56)

Red Priest:
Piers Adams, recorders
Julia Bishop, violin
Angela East, cello
David Wright, harpsichord

George Frideric Handel (1685-1759):

Suite from The Messiah:
1 Overture
2 Comfort Ye
3 Ev'ry Valley
4 Shepherds and Angels
5 Eternal Source of Light
6 The Jaws of Darkness
7 Lost with Blindness
8 Jaws Returns (link)
9 The Recorder Shall Sound
10 Despised and Rejected
11 Siciliano Pedicuro
12 The Raging Nations
13 Breaking the Bonds
14 The Potter's Vessel
15 Hallelujah

16 Lascia ch'io Pianga (Rinaldo)

Trio Sonata in F, Op 2 No 4
17 Larghetto
18 Vivace
19 Adagio
20 Alla breve
21 Allegro

22 The Harmonious Blacksmith Variations (from Keyboard Suite in E)

23 Largo (Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 2)

24 Passacaglia (Keyboard Suite in G minor)

25 Zadok the Red Priest

26 Encore: Aria Amorosa (from Trio Sonata Op 2 No 1, bonus track from CD 'Priest on the Run', RP001)

All tracks arranged and published by Red Priest

Recorded May 2014 at Birley Centre, Eastbourne College, England


 << Music & Vision home                New releases >>


Is my concert listed at Music and Vision?